GQ Men of the Year Awards

05 Sep

GQ Men Of The Year Awards – Team GB’s Olympic heroes stole the show at this year’s GQ Men of the Year Awards.

There were a host of Team GB stars from both the Olympics and the Paralympics at the award ceremony which was held this year at the Royal Opera House in London.

The evening was jointly hosted by comedians Jimmy Carr and David Walliams. Despite being billed as an awards event for men it was the women who got a lot of the attention, some for good fashion sense and others for their less stylish (and less tasteful) outfits.

One of the fashion winners on the night was singer Jessie J who wore a very stylish long black jacket style outfit which had a low plunging front and a very high split in the skirt. The outfit was a definite statement of style after she publicly parted with her former stylist who was responsible for her earlier somewhat bizarre choices of outfit which have been criticised by the singer for making her look like “a cartoon character.”

A less well received outfit was Nancy Dell’Ollio’s choice of a transparent black outfit which showed a little too much of her 51-year old breasts for most tastes. Although she was partly covered from the front by some strange silver and gold straps at least one of her nipples clearly made a bid for freedom!

One of the least surprising awards of the night went to the Team GB Olympians who won the Team of the Year Award. There were a number of our Olympic and Paralympic heroes on show including Bradley Wiggins, Sir Chris Hoy, Victoria Pendleton, Mo Farah, Zoe Newson and Jody Cundy.

As well as going up for the team award Bradley Wiggins also took the Lifetime Achievement Award. He was dressed in a mod-style pale grey checked suit to receive the award which was presented to him by his hero Liam Gallagher.

Another man who credited his win to the Team BG Olympic spirit was London Mayor Boris Johnson who was given his award for Politician of the Year by Kelly Brook. Johnson’s comments on receiving the award were:
“I don’t deserve it, but on the principle that I would almost certainly have been blamed if things had gone wrong, I’ll accept it.”

The full list of winners from the GQ Men of the Year Awards is:

  • Team – Team GB Olympians
  • Lifetime Achievement – Bradley Wiggins
  • Solo Artist – Tinie Tempah
  • TV Personality – Damian Lewis
  • Tanqueray Most Stylish – Dermot O’Leary
  • Comedian- Sacha Baron Cohen
  • Entrepreneur – Chris Corbin and Jeremy King
  • Designers – Domenico Dolce and Stefano Gabbana
  • Chef – Wolfgang Puck
  • Writer – Aaron Sorkin
  • Editor’s Special- James Corden
  • Alfred Dunhill Cultural Icon – Thomas Heatherwick
  • Politician – Boris Johnson
  • Icon – Robbie Williams
  • Woman – Lana Del Rey
  • International Breakthrough – Chris Hemsworth
  • Outstanding Achievement – Gary Barlow
  • International Man – John Slattery
  • Actor – Michael Fassbender
  • Inspiration- Sir Salman Rushdie
  • Legend – Sir Tom Jones
Comments Off on GQ Men of the Year Awards

Posted by on September 5, 2012 in Trending now


Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: